Posted in book reviews, Tumblr Reviews

Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Rating: 5/5

tumblr_inline_o69a4bhS3T1sd3wla_500

Disclaimer: This review is an old one from my tumblr account so it was written a couple years ago.

Opening Line: “There will be no awakening”

Plot: On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs. Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth’s last survivors.

To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious , Evan may be her only hope.

Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death.

Review: I’m sorry if this review is really vague.

This book is about an alien invasion that has almost exterminated humanity through 4 waves. Cassie is one of the few survivors and she plans to rescue her brother from a military facility.

First of all, this book has so many POVs, which I didn’t see coming, but it is done very well. The characters’ internal dynamics are so different from each other and you can clearly see the difference in each POV. My favorite character is Cassie Sullivan, but I love Evan as well, even if he’s very creepy. Ben is great as well but I find him very annoying at times.

This book series is a huge puzzle, so don’t expect to have answers. You can never be sure if the information you’re being given is the actual truth. In my opinion, this just draws you into the story. The way that things connect, the way that the characters are connected, the twists and turns are so WOW.

By the end of the book I needed the sequel, this had become one of my favorite books, which I only ended up getting way later…it was a struggle.

xx barbara

Leave a comment